Connect with us


UNILAG crisis gets messier as new revelation fingers Pro-chancellor, Wale Babalakin




UNILAG crisis



The latest on the crisis surrounding the removal of UNILAG Vice-chancellor, Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe seems messy as  the Pro chancellor, Wale Babalakin is being fingered for declaring false voting results.

Some of the members of the governing council that voted in the emergency meeting that resulted to the removal of the embattled Vice chancellor have began to speak up and by all indications, it can be deduced that majority voted against the removal of the vice chancellor.

According to Professor Afolabi Lesi who made a statement on behalf of the senate representative council, six persons out of 11 persons that voted have given information that they voted against the removal of the vice-chancellor.

It was also revealed that those who voted asked for suspension of the Vice chancellor, not removal.



It has become necessary to provide further update on the voting that took place to remove the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe FAS.  Fifteen members attended the Council meeting physically ad virtually and two were asked to leave, the Vice Chancellor and the Deputy Vice Chancellor (DS).  Thirteen members had the opportunity to vote, even though Dr. Wale Babalakin did not vote (as stated by him), leaving twelve (12) members.

Six (6) persons have given information that they voted against the removal of the Vice Chancellor:

  1. Prof. Bola Oboh (Representative of Senate, UNILAG).
  2. Prof. Afolabi Lesi (Representative of Senate, UNILAG).
  3. Prof. Olukemi Odukoya (Representative of Senate, UNILAG)
  4. Dr John Momoh (President, National Alumni, UNILAG).
  5. Prof. Ben Oghojafor (Deputy Vice Chancellor, MS, UNILAG)
  6. Prince Adetokunbo Adebanjo, Representative of the Ministry of Education who declared his vote openly.

Also, from further information, one person abstained from the voting processing:

  1. Prof. Eddy Omolehinwa (Representative of Senate, UNILAG)

However, the very first vote message that Dr. Wale Babalakin read out as having received was ONE SUSPENSION.  From the recount so far, the suspension vote is from one of the following:

  1. Alhaji Hussain Ali (Former Commissioner)
  2. Oluwarotimi Sodimu Esq (Representative of Congregation, UNILAG)
  3. Dr. Saminu Dagari (Senior Lecturer of Chemistry, Federal University, Gashua)
  4. Dr. Bayo Adaralegbe (Babalakin’s Chamber)
  5. Revd Yomi Kasali (Senior Pastor, Foundation of Truth Assembly)

Therefore, what is remaining is four (4) persons, who voted for the removal of the Vice Chancellor.

From the analysis of the voting pattern above, SIX (6) persons voted that Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe should not be removed as the Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos while FOUR (4) persons voted for the removal of the Vice Chancellor.  Conscience is an open wound, only the TRUTH can heal it (attributed to Usman dan Fodiyo).

Professor Afolabi Lesi

Senate Representative in Council’’

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Trixx TV



Copyright © 2020